Go Back   CaptiveBred Reptile Forums, Reptile Classified, Forum > Reptile Classifieds > Classifieds chat, comments, suggestions and Rules.
YouTube Reptile Classifieds Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 04:27 PM
AshMashMash's Avatar
Ixnay on the Upidstay!
Captive Farmed
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 436
Thanks: 14
Thanked 43 Times in 27 Posts
Default Possible scam

I dont know if it is a scam or not, but on the classifieds there is an advert for a snake (wont mention anything further yet). It says the person is in london.

I really wanted one of them, so I emailed them, they sent pics, all sounded good, good price as well. Then I find out they are in British Cameroons in Africa!

So, basically, I said no thanks, I dont want to do that. They are really wanting me to allow them to post the snake to me, apparently it will take 13 hours, they keep saying, but I'm having non of it. He/she said she wants a friend in the UK, and will give me a 20% discount, and is literally pleading for me to buy it... still, no way I a sending 200 quid to some african person I dont know.

Well, what do you think? If you wanna take it off, I can give you details, if not, fine.
__________________
Member Number 2782 Et tu?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 04:38 PM
JStroud's Avatar
Moderator
Captive Bred
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Bucks
Posts: 5,069
Thanks: 10
Thanked 130 Times in 94 Posts
Default

Don't touch it with a long pole!! :lol:
__________________
Regards James Stroud
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 04:39 PM
AshMashMash's Avatar
Ixnay on the Upidstay!
Captive Farmed
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 436
Thanks: 14
Thanked 43 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JStroud
Don't touch it with a long pole!! :lol:
Haha, yeh, dont worry, I wont! Just dont know if needs taking off or not... it COULD be genuine. Somehow I doubt it though![/i]
__________________
Member Number 2782 Et tu?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 08:57 PM
Scott W's Avatar
Administrator
Captive Bred
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, England.
Posts: 30,462
Thanks: 1,600
Thanked 1,174 Times in 890 Posts
Default

any doubts press the report button, write why you think it's dodgey and we'll look into it :wink:
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 09:56 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Member Number 2521
Captive Bred
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 21,896
Thanks: 191
Thanked 305 Times in 273 Posts
Default

it sounds dodgy to me. i have heard about this sort off thing before.
__________________

Website back online.
WWW.RoyalGems.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17-11-2007, 09:58 PM
AshMashMash's Avatar
Ixnay on the Upidstay!
Captive Farmed
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bournemouth
Posts: 436
Thanks: 14
Thanked 43 Times in 27 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne
it sounds dodgy to me. i have heard about this sort off thing before.
Yeh. I've reported it, saying basically what I did in the first post, so we'll see what admin wants to do.
__________________
Member Number 2782 Et tu?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2
All content posted is copyright of CaptiveBredReptileForums.co.uk